Saturday, May 4, 2013

Tasers, Stun Gun and Pepper Spray Laws

Tasers, Stun Gun and Pepper Spray Laws

Eagle Defense Products

Do you need to perform a background check before you sell a M26C or X26C? 
A background check is needed for the M26C and the X26C models of Tasers we sell. This needs to be done by you before selling a Taser of this type. You can do the background check two ways. One of the toll free number 888-Taser-88 or the website 

How many milliamps does a stun gun output? 
Stun guns will have 5-8 milliamps depending on the strength of the battery.

Will a Taser holster clip onto a 2 ¼” duty belt? 
The C2 holsters will only work on a normal civilian style belt. All X26C and M26C model holsters will work on a duty belt.

Does pepper spray have an expiration date? 
Pepper spray does have an expiration date; typically it is 4 years from the date of purchase.

Can you ship bear and dog repellent to all 50 states? 
Bear and dog spray can be sent to every state except MA as they require an FOID card to purchase those sprays.
BEAR SPRAY "ultra hot pepper spray"

Can my pepper spray be refilled? 
Pepper sprays are not made to be refilled. After use they should be properly disposed of.

How do I dispose of my pepper spray? 
The correct way to dispose pepper spray is to empty the can in a well-ventilated area. Then throw away the can like any other aerosol can.

"Below are stun gun laws and restrictions that we are aware of. You should check locally if you believe stun guns may be restricted in your area". 

States where Stun Guns are Restricted - We Will Not Ship To: 










Cities where Stun Guns are Restricted - We Will Not Ship To:





DENSION / CRAWFORD COUNTY, IA (*According to Sheriff Tom Hogan*)



***In order to possess a Taser or stun gun in any of these states Illinois, Michigan, and Wisconsin an individual must have a valid FOID card (Firearm Owner's Identification Card), as is currently required for firearms. 

Below are pepper spray laws and restrictions that we are aware of. You should check locally if you believe pepper sprays may be restricted in your area.

States Where Pepper Sprays are Restricted - We Will Not Ship To:

New York: 
New York residents may only purchase defense sprays from licensed Firearms Dealers or licensed Pharmacists in that state.

Massachusetts residents may only purchase defense sprays from licensed Firearms Dealers in that state.

States Where Pepper Sprays Have Some Restrictions - We Will Not Ship To: 

Tear gas is not permissible.  By regulation, OC products with a maximum OC concentration of 10% and weight range of oleoresin of capsicum and inert ingredients of 15-60 grams are authorized.  This is 1/2 oz. and 2 oz. spray. Further, the product cannot be camouflaged, and must have a safety feature designed to prevent accidental discharge.  The units may not have an effective range of over 20 feet and must have an effective range of six feet.  In addition there are certain labeling and packaging requirements: must state cannot sell to anyone under 18 and the phone number of the manufacturer has to be on the label.  The units must also be sold in sealed tamper-proof packages.

Pepper spray must not be more than 10% and can be used for self defense. ”The reasonable use of a self-defense spray or foam device containing not more than 10% oleoresin capsicum by a person in the protection of a person or property under circumstances that would justify the person's use of physical force.”

If your billing address or shipping address includes one of the above locations, we will not process your Pepper Spray or Stun Gun order.

Warning and Disclaimer

Stun Guns, and Pepper Spray may be legal in some of these areas with permit, or when supplied by in-state licensed dealers, but we still will not ship to the above mentioned locations. This is not a comprehensive list, we are not Lawyers and you are responsible for determining the laws in your area. When purchasing from Eagle Defense Products, you accept full responsibility for complying with all federal, state and local laws.

Stun Guns and Pepper Spray is legal in all 50 states 

however a number of cities and states have restrictions on sizes, strengths, etc... If you have a question, it is wise to check with your local city or state attorney’s office. Defense sprays/Stun guns should only be purchased by those 18 years of age or older. The above list may not be totally accurate or complete we accept no responsibility for its accuracy or completeness.

         Available to US Residents only: Restrictions may apply!